Flag of Laos

Laos forum

Motorcycling the Bolaven Plateau in August...Am I Crazy???

• googdot

Joined Travelfish
    20th March, 2007

I am seriously considering motorcycling the Bolaven Plateau area in late August this year for around 1-2 weeks. I plan to start in Pakse, and do the loop around including Tad Lo, Salavan, Sekong, Attepeu, Paksong. Maybe head over to Champasak and even Don Dhet/Khon as well.

I have some experience riding as I currently use a 125cc scooter on a daily basis, but the weather at that time makes me think that the trip might turn into a complete mud bath.

Am I crazy to even consider this trip in the middle of the wet season?

#1 Posted: 31/7/2009 - 18:00

• Advertisement

• Rufus

Joined Travelfish
    22nd April, 2007
    Location Laos

I think you would need a dirt bike.

#2 Posted: 31/7/2009 - 18:02

• rideLARA

Joined Travelfish
    31st July, 2009
    Location Laos

Hi goog...

Rufus is right, a Baja or XR 250 is prolly best.

There are sealed routes to take on most of your itenerary, so that you will have to decide..On road or off road....if you aren't an experienced dirtbiker, then don't go it alone.

Also, buy the GT Rider map. Join the GT rider forum and post here
    http://www.gt-rider.com/thailand-motorcycle-forum/laos---any-message-f35.html

The best quality bikes are here: http://www.bike-rental-laos.com/aboutus.htm Pricey, but you get what you pay for....

Second choice for rentals should be Jimoi, through Fuark's Big bike. Find him on GT Rider.

LAstly, the cheapest option is PVO here: http://www.laopvo-bikerental.co.cc/ Inspect carefully and ride it first around town.

In all, I'd sat go for it...it'll be an adventure no matter what...bring rain gear or waterproof stuff. Or just buy a cheap plastic poncho here, they are cheap and everywhere.

Anything else send me PM here or on GT Rider. I am hsracer369 there.

Good luck

#3 Posted: 1/8/2009 - 13:48

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10