Flag of Malaysia

Malaysia forum

Best places for student travel in Malaysia?

• terenkleon

Joined Travelfish
    26th January, 2012

Im an 18 year old student, looking to do some travelling over my summer break with a friend. We're considering Malaysia/Thailand/Singapore. We want to stay in youth hostels and move around every few days. If anyone has been to this corner of the world, do you have any suggestions for places to go, or tips for travelling in this area?
    Any responses will be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!

#1 Posted: 26/1/2012 - 07:38

• Advertisement

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 53
    Places visited:
    At least 48

Malaysia and Singapore are expensive no matter how you cut it - and much more so compared to other parts of Southeast Asia. If you're looking to do things on the cheap I'd consider other locations. If you still want to do Malaysia I'd say that Penang would be interesting and you can find cheaper accommodations, along with the Cameron Highlands. Over the summer the monsoon will not be on the East side of the peninsula, so a trip to the Perhentian islands will probably be nice - though pricey, I don't know abut budget accommodations there. Last note; if you are a drinker then I would save a bit extra for the trip as alcohol is taxed heavily and the only place I've found affordable drinks is in the Duty Free Zone of Langkawi.

#2 Posted: 27/1/2012 - 00:48

Have questions? Jump to our menu of forum quicklinks

Add your reply

Your reply

Check this box if you want to be notified of replies.

Please be familiar with our user guidelines before you post. Thanks!

Businesses planning on plugging their guesthouse / hotel / karaoke bar should read our "Addition guidelines" very carefully.