Motorbiking in Asia forum

I need some biking tips for Laos!

• akirafro

Joined Travelfish
    31st October, 2010

Me and a buddy are heading to Laos in a couple of months and we were thinking of biking around a bit. I was thinking of going from Luang Prabang and catching a ferry of some sorts to Pak Beng. Then from Pak Beng, ride up to Udomaxai, then east to Nhong Khiaw, and finally down back south to Luang Prabang. Firstly I was hoping to find out, is it possible to take a bike onto a ferry at all? and secondly, would this be a safe route to take on a scooter? I have no motorbike experience and am planning to take a few day bike course but if I can, I'd rather a scooter.
    Cheers!

#1 Posted: 31/10/2010 - 05:06

• Advertisement

• AbgAcid

Click here to learn more about AbgAcid
    Joined Travelfish
    28th November, 2009
    Location Malaysia
    Total reviews: 21

I had a fair share of experience riding my bike in Laos, but believe me its not a place you want ride. The roads are bad, potholes everywhere. The traffic volume is low no doubt, at certain places to Udomaxai,, but nevertheless you must be extra careful riidng these roads. Watch out for bicycles and other motorcycles, the locals love to make u-turns whenever they like to. Also to look for is the animal traffic.Swines dash across the roads are very common, they are like missiles out of no where.

Do take an intensive course prior, you sure gonna need it. I suggest not to take the scooter, as they have smaller wheels and the roads are not up to it. A step through 4-speed cubs Honda of 100 or 125 cc would be good. They have bigggr diameter wheels.A spare 2 litres of petrol would be good too to bring along, as there are not too many petrol stations along the route. Scooters and cubs have capacity of not more then 4-litre in their tank.

Also from Udomaxai, I sugest you uo a bit north to Luang Namtha, just a small little town in the, and you may trek on foot to see the mountain hill tribes too.