Motorbiking in Asia forum

Motorbiking without license

• thelonewand-
    erer

Joined Travelfish
    28th October, 2012

Hi my first post on travel fish. Woo hoo.

I'm out in Singapore until December, and am wanting to embrace the lands around me. I am passionately excited about motorbiking from Johor Bahru (Malaysia) and buying a bike there, through thailand, cambodia and vietnam until Han Noi, where I plan to fly back to Singapore after selling the bike on there.

The main thing I am worried about is insurance. I am a cautious driver, but if someone else crashes into me, my travel insurance probably won't cover me as I don't have a motorbike license (they cover me up to 125CC). I have a full UK driver's license, but no motorbike license.

I am so ecstatic about this road trip, but am worried that if I have an accident, I'll be in trouble. It's not everyday I am out in SE Asia, and I want to embrace it now while I can.

Your advice would be much appreciated!

#1 Posted: 29/10/2012 - 00:16

• Advertisement

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 53
    Places visited:
    At least 48

Depending on your insurance, some require an international drivers license as well, motorbike certified. If you do not have the proper license and you are injured, your insurance will not pay for it.

You can certainly make long journey's for fun on a 125cc - even go onto some dirt roads if you like. Though I can't imagine taking a long-haul like you've described on one.

Also realize that only certain border crossings will let you take a motorbike across.

#2 Posted: 29/10/2012 - 02:14

• goonistik

Joined Travelfish
    7th January, 2010
    Location Philippines
    Places visited:
    At least 9

Please be aware that in some SEA countries, they do not recognize the International Driving Permit. Your insurance may require that you be properly licensed to drive in these countries and that means getting a local driver's license.