Philippines forum

Best place to live for 2-3 months

• placeshifter

Joined Travelfish
    26th July, 2010

My girlfriend (and our 3 year old child) currently live in Seoul, South Korea. I make my living through the Internet so we have great flexibility in where we can live.

We're searching for a place where we could spend 2-3 months every year (December - February) that has charming & atmospheric architecture and neighborhoods; is surrounded by beautiful nature; offers delicious, affordable cuisine; and just an overall pleasant and enjoyable atmosphere and weather.

I am currently considering Luang Prabang in Laos; NE Thailand (Udon Thani vicinity); as well as Baguio, Vigan or Bohol in the Philippines.

I was curious if somebody who knows the Philippines well could provide their insights on Baguio, Vigan or Bohol as possible places to live for 2-3 months; or suggest any other cities/towns that I may have missed?

I would very much appreciate your insights and advice.

#1 Posted: 26/7/2010 - 02:28

• Advertisement

• goonistik

Joined Travelfish
    7th January, 2010
    Location Philippines
    Places visited:
    At least 9

My family used to go to Baguio for an annual vacation but that was in the 1970's. It was a lovely place and I have fond memories of the place. However, the city just grew without any planning and it is just too crowded for my taste. The mountainsides that used to be green, now contain precariously perched houses. You used to be able to smell the pine trees.

So I really miss the "Old" Baguio and I wish you could have experienced that. If you google for "Old Baguio" you will find lots of people like me who miss the "Old Baguio".

If I really want to experience the mountains, I would go to Sagada. Sagada is a small and very peaceful town with this strong idyllic vibe. So it makes a nice change of pace from Metro-Manila.

The food in Sagada is okay. I ate a lot at the yogurt house. Than I went to Chef Aklay's buffet.