admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Another forum section by request: Camera advice and photography techniques.

Perhaps useful for those trying to decide between taking five kilos or camera gear or a polaroid.

Please no posts from merchants etc.

Thanks in advance

#1 Posted: 25/10/2010 - 09:06

• Advertisement

• mitl

Joined Travelfish
    22nd March, 2009
    Location Thailand

If you have a reasonable DSLR camera that shoots RAW, that body combined with the best zoom lens you can afford will be ok for most subjects e.g. a 70-200 f2.8

I'm a travel photographer so if you need any further help, please contact me.

johnmarmon@gmail.com

#2 Posted: 14/5/2012 - 23:38

• UsTwo

Joined Travelfish
    22nd April, 2010

We took our Nikon D3100, with Tamron 18-270 zoom. This gave us excellent results, for all situations. We did feel very conspicuous, however, with such a large, extravagant, in-your-face camera.
    On my last trip, I took my Canon SX230 point n shoot. Very good results, though not as good as the Nikon. I also missed the viewfinder - I'm not a fan of composing with the screen. Sunlight has a big effect on what you can see. The main advantage from my point of view was that it was completely inconspicuous, and I could simply snatch a shot quickly.

For individuals, always request permission first. If not given, no photo.

#3 Posted: 15/5/2012 - 03:47

• mitl

Joined Travelfish
    22nd March, 2009
    Location Thailand

I can't really understand that you felt conspicuous with a Nikon 3100 and the 18-270 zoom. I regularly use my Nikon D700 with a 70-200 zoom and many others do too! If you are relatively new to photography, I can understand perhaps a reluctance to shoot people. But I usually find a friendly approach combined with a smile works 99% of the time or I shoot candids.

#4 Posted: 15/5/2012 - 04:42