Cameras and travel photography forum

Backing Up Photos

• Phiddy

Joined Travelfish
    1st December, 2011

Hi, I'm travelling around SE Asia for about 3-4 months beginning in January, I'm planning on taking a high end P&S or possibly a dSLR with me. I have seen a lot on here about backing up pictures as you go but how exactly is this done?
    My immediate thought was to go to internet cafes and email the pics to myself, but last time I tried this it only let me send about 6 pics in each email - not handy when trying to back up hundreds at a time. Another option is tweeting / blogging them, but this doesn't really solve the problem faced when I have hundreds at a time.

Some people said something about backing them up on DVD, how exactly would you do this in an internet cafe? Surely it would take ages? And I'm not sure how I feel about either carrying the DVDs with me or posting them home, both have security issues.

Is there something I'm missing? I am a massive noob when it comes to this sort of thing as I have never had to do it before, but I have been in the situation where I have lost ALL of the pics I took on a holiday (broken iphone), lost about 200 pics and it was the worst feeling in the world.

Thanks

#1 Posted: 8/12/2011 - 11:00

• Advertisement

• altmtl

Click here to learn more about altmtl
    Joined Travelfish
    18th May, 2009
    Location Earth
    Total reviews: 5

I guess you're not bringing a notebook? I would suggest you get a USB key of 8, 16 or 32 gigs, you might need a card reader for your memory cards? Transfer the pics to the computer at the Cybercafe, than transfer them back onto your USB key. I don't need more than 8 gigs, but it depends on the format that you are saving in...

#2 Posted: 8/12/2011 - 11:09

• Phiddy

Joined Travelfish
    1st December, 2011