Cameras and travel photography forum

HD Camcorder and Lapel Mike (Collar mike) - unusual items to buy?

• Greatlookin-
    guy

Click here to learn more about Greatlookinguy
    Joined Travelfish
    2nd August, 2012
    Location Earth

Hi there friendly folks of TravelFish, I am headed to South East Asia on a solo backpacking holiday and have started up an online video blogging website focussing on short & spicy travel secrets videos. So far, being a total amateur, I have used my trusty Nokia N95 brick of a phone (phone falls to floor, floor breaks - that kind of phone).

Am thinking of investing in a proper (but cheap) HD hand held cam corder and a lapel/collar mike. Most people been talking about photography cameras on this forum... am looking for any info and/or guidance on the purchase of a video camera (a small handheld one will do me just fine) and things like a lapel or collar mike to capture the sound.

Can the forum gurus or other experts help?

Depending on the advice given, I might start my travels from that country so as to purchase the hardware before starting my journey :-)

Thank You in advance.

#1 Posted: 2/10/2012 - 05:19

• Advertisement

• TassieWombat

Click here to learn more about TassieWombat
    Joined Travelfish
    6th April, 2012
    Location Australia

Hi Greatlookingguy (Are you really?) I guess you have been and returned home by now but for what it is worth here are my thoughts. I am by no means a "Guru" of the photographic world but I just bought a Sony PJ30 (would be outdated at this writing time) but it fits in your pocket, has recording format: HD: MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 AVCHD (I gather that is good) and I purchased a microphone that is effective up to 100mt and clips on lapel (Sony ECM-AW3)
    Was not cheap but I am very happy with it, really gives a new dimension to videoing.