Flag of Singapore

Singapore forum

What to do in a day and a half?

• newhorizons1

Joined Travelfish
    3rd January, 2010

Hi All,

I'm new to all of this but you seem a helpful bunch and I'm hoping you can give me inspiration?

In March 2010 I will be stopping in Singapore with my best friend. We have a day and a half and want to make the most of our visit.
    Can anyone advise of any NOT TO MISS activities.

Many thanks in anticipation.

#1 Posted: 3/1/2010 - 04:29

• Advertisement

• craash

Joined Travelfish
    5th January, 2010

The Bird Park, The statues on the river, China town market, India Town, go for a swim in one of Singapores many public swimming pools.

#2 Posted: 5/1/2010 - 16:56

• craash

Joined Travelfish
    5th January, 2010

Singapore is pretty tame, but there's still some cool things to see and do:

The Singapore Zoo and Night Safari: great open-air exhibits and lots of indigenous South-East Asian animals - Malay sun bears, proboscis monkeys, orang utans, etc.

Sentosa: man-made island full of family-friendly attractions and mediocre beaches. The Underwater world aquarium is pretty good.

Little India: One of Singapore's more vibrant and bustling areas - eat a dosa masala with your hands, buy some cheap Bollywood VCDs, and get your fortune told by a parrot! Avoid this area on Sundays as it gets REALLY REALLY crowded. The Mustapha Shopping centre is also in this area - it sells absolutely everything and is open 24 hours.

Orchard Road - If you love to shop, this is the place to go. The road is lined with giant shopping mall after giant shopping mall filled with designer clothes. It's quite the sight to behold, but not a good spot for bargain hunters.

Bugis street market - lively street market area with cheap t-shirts, the cheapest souvenirs in the city, fruit vendors and food stalls.

Lau Pa Sat - Singapore is well known for its food centres and this is one of the best. It's in a good location right downtown, too.