Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Amy's plan...any advice?

• amylou

Joined Travelfish
    3rd December, 2009

Hey, I am flying to Bangkok next month and can't stop thinking about my trip! I love this site. Anyway, I have put together a brief outline plan of the places I want to see but I am not sure if this is cramming in too much over 2 months? Any suggestions/comments on my itinery would be MUCH appreciated as it is my first time travelling SEA solo.

26th April - Bangkok (4 nights)
    Overnight train to Chiang Mai (3 nights)
    Huay xai (border crossing to Loas)
    Slow boat Pakbeng (2 nights)
    Luang Pabang (4 nights)
    Vang Vieng (2 nights)
    Vientiane (2 nights)
    Fly to Hanoi (2 night)
    Halong Bay Boat Cruise (3 nights)
    Back to Hanoi (1 night)
    Nihn Bihn (1 night)
    Overnight train to Hue (2 nights)
    Hoi An (2 nights)
    (maybe fly to Saigon) or bus to Nha Trang?
    Cross the border to Cambodia Phnom Penh (3 nights)
    Siem Reap/Ankor (4 nights)
    (around the 5th June) Bus/train back to Bangkok
    I will have a couple of weeks left in Thailand to head down to the south islands to chill!

Many Thanks, A

#1 Posted: 17/3/2010 - 09:49

• Advertisement

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 53
    Places visited:
    At least 48

With some time to play with I'd allow a little more time in Chiang Mai to do a Hill Tribe hike (I recommend Pooh Eco Travel) and ALSO have time in the city to enjoy the night life. We spent a week in the area and if felt like too little.

Saigon was fun, and seeing the delta is a delight - we really enjoyed Can Tho and deeper in the delta heard it gets even nicer. Could probably fly into Saigon and work your way up to Cambodia from the delta.

Which Islands??? That's a thread in itself.

#2 Posted: 17/3/2010 - 15:24

• wombatfuz

Joined Travelfish
    30th December, 2009

Do you have any contingency plans. For instance, the slow boat may not be running.