Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Renting a scooter for the inexperienced?

• Barnsey

Joined Travelfish
    11th September, 2006

Hi there!

Anyone rented a scooter while out in Thailand? I'm thinking of getting one to explore Kanchanaburi but wondering how difficult/dangerous it might be the first time?

I'm an experienced driver but don't know if that'll mean anything in the wild =)

Mucho thanks, Andy

#1 Posted: 2/11/2006 - 17:21

• Advertisement

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Hi Andy,

Scooter is a great way to explore Kanchanaburi -- as many of the rides are pretty easy with good road surfaces and not very heavy traffic -- even for beginners they're pretty good, though I wouldn't try the road to Sangkhlaburi on day one - it's pretty tricky in parts.

Otherwise, wear a helmet, take it easy -- you should be fine...

#2 Posted: 2/11/2006 - 17:38

• exacto

Joined Travelfish
    12th February, 2006
    Location United States
    Total reviews: 47
    Places visited:
    At least 98

Andy,

Kanchanaburi is a good place for a novice scooter rider because the roads aren't too crowded and there is quite a bit to see. Like Somtam says, be sure to wear a helmet (be picky about what they give you too because many of them are helmets in name only), and be sure to get one for your passenger as well. (they'll be puzzled because by law only the driver is required to wear one.)