Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Suggestions for travel route, newbie here PLEASE help

• austintexas-

Joined Travelfish
    31st July, 2010

I am planning to backpack for 6 months and it seems like everybody starts in Bangkok. I would like to go to Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand Islands, Malaysia, and Singapore(and if I have time/money I would also like to hit up Indonesia and Phillipines). I am going to be leaving on November 1st. Should I fly into BKK and go to Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, then head south? or should I fly in to Singapore and just head north hitting all my destinations I would like to visit? What is best for the weather and what not, like is it going to be cold AT ALL in Loas in december? And one other quick question about getting a Visa, if I fly in to BKK does my 30 days start that day? because if I fly in to BKK then go to Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia and then back to Thailand, can I still get my 60 day tourist visa? I would like to spend as much time as I possibly can in Thailand. I am from United States by the way.

Thanks for all the help! I am so pumped about planning this trip but I have only left Texas twice before and I am going by myself, so I am a bit nervous :-\

#1 Posted: 31/7/2010 - 04:49

• Advertisement

• SBE

Click here to learn more about SBE
    Joined Travelfish
    14th April, 2008
    Location Global Village
    Total reviews: 5
    Places visited:
    At least 2

First of all, congratulations for being brave enough to leave Texas and see what the rest of the world is like! You'll have a great time and it'll probably change the way you see things for the rest of your life. It's natural to be nervous the first time you go anywhere and of course it'll be exotic and strange and totally different from back home (that's the whole point) but I think you'll be amazed how safe and easy it is to travel in SE Asia.