Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

6 weeks - Thailand only?? Or A bit extra ??

• sweetlikech-
    oc

Joined Travelfish
    25th September, 2010

Hey everyone,
    Im a total newbie on the far east :o) so expect many questions between now and next April some stupid, some daft, some random, and well a bit of everything really.

Anyway 1st one here goes, we are looking at a 6 wk trip and cant decide between the full 6 wks exploring thailand and really getting to see as much of it as possible or 4 wks in thailand with maybe a wk in vietnam and a wk in malaysia or any other places you can suggest that makes us think.

Sweet x

#1 Posted: 25/9/2010 - 17:40

• Advertisement

• sirhalberd

Joined Travelfish
    30th December, 2007

Once you pay for your plane tickets to Thailand the largest expense is over with.

Some tourists do split their trips when in South East Asia. You can purchase plane tickets or even train tickets while you are in Thailand. From Bangkok you can even take the train to Malaysia if you want to, even on to Singapore.

Other tourists think 6 weeks is too short a time to visit Thailand. It is up to you really. If this may be the only time in the near future when you will have a chance to visit a foreign country why not take some side trips to check out the nearby countries.

Verify that you can stay in Thailand for 6 weeks. Also see if you need a visa for Malaysia. You will probably need a visa for Vietnam, most of the Communist countries require them.
    http://www.mfa.go.th/web/2482.php?id=2490
    http://www.travelmasti.com/international/malaysia/malaysia-visa.html

Some tourists try to see several countries in less time than you have allowed for your Thailand holiday.

Up to you.

#2 Posted: 26/9/2010 - 09:25

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10

The only dumb question is the one not asked!

#3 Posted: 26/9/2010 - 11:31

• exacto

Joined Travelfish
    12th February, 2006
    Total reviews: 47