Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Bangkok and islands - 3 weeks

• saxomophone

Joined Travelfish
    13th January, 2009

Hi everyone

I'm heading to Thailand for three weeks from February 16 2011 (followed by one week in Hong Kong) with my boyfriend.

We fly in to Bangkok and plan to stay for 4-5 full days before taking an overnight train south to Surat Thani as the beginning of a trip to the south coast, the islands and then back to BKK.

I was in BKK briefly in 2009 as part of a big backpacking trip in South East Asia, and in Koh Samui/Ko Tao earlier this year for a wedding so I have some limited experience in Thailand. I've got a few questions of you to inform our decisions on our itinerary.

1. Any recommendations for a good day trip (possibly overnight) from BKK? We are both pretty much open to anything when travelling - from hiking/outdoor adventures, obvious tourist sites, if special (temples etc). I don't really need a big drawcard feature to go somewhere - I'm open to anyone convincing me that somewhere is special. People, food and atmosphere are the things that draw me to places and keep me there.

2. Has anyone ever hired bicycles in BKK and cycled "out of town" into suburbia (or the country)? Anywhere you would recommend/any tips?

3. After Surat Thani, we are still a bit stumped as to where to go first. AT this stage we know we want to go to the Similans and that is it. Everything else is up for grabs as long as it gets us back to BKK in time. We would have about 14 days. What do you recommend?

I've been thinking that we head to Krabi and/or Trang for a few days (I've heard Krabi is actually a pretty interesting, relaxed town with a good mix of people and great food), then north west to Phang Nga province as a launching point to the Similans. We want a good 4-5 days on the Similans. I'm really interested in Ko Kradan and Ko Phra Thong too but this may be packing in too much?