Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Thailand - October 10th-30th

• Simon1974

Joined Travelfish
    12th July, 2011

Hi,
    I am travelling solo to Thailand in October and its my first time in the country. I have 20 nights in total and expect to spend at least a couple of nights on sleeper trains. I have put together a rough itinerary below.

Bangkok - 3 nights
    Chiang Mai - 4 nights
    Kanchanaburi - 4 nights
    Islands - 4 nights
    Final night in Bangkok

I’m after a few opinions from people with a bit more experience of the area.
    Am I trying to do too much in the time that I have?

I’ve looked at the weather guide for the islands and the chance of rain seems fairly high for either coast. Does anyone have any suggestions of which islands are most likely to be dry during the last week of October or would I better leaving that part of my trip open and making the decision whilst I’m there.

Thanks in advance for any responses

#1 Posted: 18/7/2011 - 22:29

• Advertisement

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10

That looks OK. I wouldn't get hung up on the nights. You might get somewhere and decide it blows and move on. Or you might get somewhere and love it and stay the whole time. But otherwise, looks fine.

#2 Posted: 19/7/2011 - 00:09

• guava_girl

Joined Travelfish
    21st October, 2010

Not sure which islands would be drier. On the Andaman the monsoon is coming to an end while on the Gulf it is just beginning. Just choose which you want to visit more and try your luck.

#3 Posted: 19/7/2011 - 09:17

• Tilapia

Click here to learn more about Tilapia
    Joined Travelfish
    21st April, 2006
    Location Canada
    Total reviews: 15
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Leave it open, check the weather when you're there, and then decide.

#4 Posted: 19/7/2011 - 18:46

• SBE

Click here to learn more about SBE
    Joined Travelfish
    14th April, 2008
    Location Global Village
    Total reviews: 5
    Places visited: