Thailand forum

Help with trains

• Sparts

Joined Travelfish
    5th June, 2009
    Location United Kingdom
    Places visited:
    At least 17

I don't know why people find it so hard to work out train travel when abroad, but I appear to have fallen into the same trap :)

My plan was to travel from Bangkok to Kanchanaburi , spend a couple of days there before heading to Surat Thani (then Samui). They are all on the same line (albeit Kanchanaburi appears to be on a branch off the main south line).

So am I right in thinking I can do the following:
    Bangkok to Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi to Nakhon Pathom , Nakhon Pathom to Surat Thani (overnight sleeper). Do I need to go to Nakhon Pathom to get the train to Surat Thani or does it somehow run through Kanchanaburi?

I have no experience using trains in Thailand and I'm at a loss to what the difference is between the different train types, Express etc as they all seem to take mreo or less the same time. Perhaps some are "nicer" than others?

Ideas?
    Thanks as always :)

#1 Posted: 7/9/2011 - 02:18

• Advertisement

• frasmc

Joined Travelfish
    28th November, 2005
    Total reviews: 3

The Man in Seat 61 has pretty comprehensive coverage of the train system in Thailand. I've found it very useful in the past. http://seat61.com/Thailand.htm

#2 Posted: 7/9/2011 - 03:06

• Tilapia

Click here to learn more about Tilapia
    Joined Travelfish
    21st April, 2006
    Location Canada
    Total reviews: 15
    Places visited:
    At least 71

Hi Sparts,

Yes, you can do that. You're correct in that K-buri is on a different line, but it joins (or branches off) at Nakhon Pathom . So, having said that, you have to return to Nakhon Pathom from K-buri to get the train south to Surat.

Here's the timetable for southbound trains ... http://www.railway.co.th/home/srt/timetable/download/th/20110702-south-go.pdf