Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

40 year old traveling virgin!HELP :)

• diaz101

Joined Travelfish
    12th October, 2011

40yr old M looking to go to Thailand maybe Vietnam from Dec 6 2011 to feb 2012.
    Where do I start, what to do, how much money???Iv'e got a budget of about £3000

Im looking to learn a bit of Thai cooking,bit of rock climbing, possibly Vietnam motorbike journey al a Top Gear and a full moon party.

I like a bit of fun (it used to be a lot of fun until real life caught up with me!) but I also like my quiet time, as it's my first time I wouldnt mind hooking up with like minded people when in Thailand, I get a bit restless just sitting on a beach, but i'm sure that i could learn to relax a bit :)
    Has anyone got an itinery or suggestions , iv'e got a coupld of months to plan and sort stuff out, but I guess I need some help to get the ball rolling.

Cheers for the advice :)

#1 Posted: 12/10/2011 - 18:21

• Advertisement

• sirhalberd

Joined Travelfish
    30th December, 2007

I wish I were 40 again! Just keep in mind that many tourists visiting Thailand are also retirees traveling alone. I have come across little old ladies in their eighties traveling in Thailand. At 40 you are still a kid!

If you need a visa or not depends on the passport you are traveling with. Some countries are visa exempt and can simply show up at the Suvarnabhumi Airport and get a stamp in your passport good for 30 days. If you visit another country, like Vietnam, you will get another free 30 days when you FLY back to Thailand. If you want to spend more than 30 days just in Thailand at one time then get a 60 day visa you pay for. Some tourists just work around the free 30 days by planning their visits to other countries and arrival back in Thailand to bring them up to the day they fly home.
    http://www.mfa.go.th/web/2482.php?id=2490