Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Just under 2 months in Thailand

• jennakuz

Joined Travelfish
    23rd September, 2011

I am a 20 year old female travelling alone to SE Asia in January of 2012. I will be there for 5-6 months. It is my first time backpacking/travelling alone and with all of the information about southeast asia online I am finding it quite overwhelming to plan everything!
    I am looking for a trip where I can socialize, but also experience real culture of the countries.

I am planning my trip as follows:

Fly into bangkok
    3-5 days Bangkok
    Venture to Southern Thailand/Islands for about 3 weeks
    fly from Phuket -Bankok-Yangon
    3 weeks in Burma
    Fly back to Bangkok and venture to Northern Thailand/Chiang Mai for about 3 weeks.

Since this is the Thailand forum I am primarily looking for information of where young backpackers will be more common, but I don't want to be overwhelmed with people; especially since I am travelling in peak season. I prefer to relax on the beach and not be too surrounded by partying people and am not planning on visiting Phuket other than the airport. I'm looking for laid back islands with good energy and not overly social/drunken atmospheres; is PhiPhi island worth going or do you think it would be too overwhelming that time of year?

I have looked at Ko Samui, Ko Pha Ngan, and Ko Tao - as those are more popular locations, no? and then (from info off travelfish) have found Raya/Racha island, Ko Adang, Ko Kho Khao, Ko Kradan, Ko Lanta, Ko Maak, Ko Muk, Ko Yao Ya and the Similan Islands to be looking interesting/beautiful/relaxed. I am trying to chisel down the # of islands and am not sure whether the islands I have listed are mostly day trips/which are commonly stayed at for a few days.

Also, at what point on my route in Thailand would it be appropriate to visit Kanachaburi? Before heading south or north from Bangkok?