Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Jeep / Quad rental on Ko Phangan for 7+ days

• alt

Joined Travelfish
    7th October, 2011

Hi folks,
    We want to get some transport for our stay in Ko Phangan. I've been advised against 2 wheels as the roads can get pretty bad. I'm a competent scrambler driver, but don't want to do that with my girlfriend on the back.

Can anyone offer any advise on reputable companies that rent out jeeps/quads?

I'm not too worried about price, and hoping to get a good deal for a 7+ day rental; my main concern is to deal with a reputable organisation.

We're staying on the Sunset beach at Haad Rin

Can anyone provide any info? Cheers

#1 Posted: 20/12/2011 - 21:57

• Advertisement

• busylizzy

Joined Travelfish
    31st December, 2007
    Location New Zealand
    Total reviews: 20
    Places visited:
    At least 107

I have rented a 4WD twice in KPN - both times from same place. Here is what I posted recently in another thread:

"I paid THB2000 for a 3-day rental period for a small 4WD. When you get off the ferry, push your way past all the taxi touts and walk straight along the pier and out onto the main road (only 100m give or take). There is a cafe directly opposite that also rents out vehicles. Sorry, I forget the name of the cafe, but it will be very obvious with signs out, etc. By memory, there were a few other places nearby as well.

They don't offer any kind of insurance so you're wearing the risk. They hold your passport as security - something I tried very hard to avoid. If you damage, you pay. No pay, no passport, I presume. Having said that, I had a very trouble-free rental, and they were very good to deal with otherwise.

It's well worth the expense IMO to be able to explore the island - and certainly safer than a motorbike, esp as some of the roads heading up to the NE beaches are pretty rough. "