Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Advice what beaches to go in Thailand in August

• Jfigs

Joined Travelfish
    26th January, 2012

Hi
    I am planning a trip to southeast asia. Its my first time and after 3 years of lawschool and studying for the bar this will be my BIG vacation. i am looking forward to enjoy a nice vacation. I would love to visit Thailand. I plan to do the main attractions but I would also love to relax a few days at a Beach. I know its the rainy season but after reading a few blogs I feel I can be lucky and get some good weather. What beaches do you recommend? If you think I run a risk of having bad weather, do you recommend any other beaches?

Thanks

#1 Posted: 26/1/2012 - 22:12

• Advertisement

• ayesha

TF writer
    Click here to learn more about ayesha
    Joined Travelfish
    12th June, 2009
    Location Thailand

Its not rainy season on the east coast....Koh Tao and Koh Phangnan....

#2 Posted: 26/1/2012 - 23:32

• whardy

Joined Travelfish
    14th November, 2011

Also Koh Samui and Ang Thong Marine Park... You'll find plenty of good weather, don't fret.

#3 Posted: 27/1/2012 - 01:09

• Jfigs

Joined Travelfish
    26th January, 2012

Thank you for the responses. Do you recommend chiang Mai in August?

#4 Posted: 27/1/2012 - 08:09

• Captain_Bob

Click here to learn more about Captain_Bob
    Joined Travelfish
    27th May, 2006
    Location Thailand

I can recommend Chiang Mai any time of year, but you never know when the big rains will hit until you're there. Rainy season runs roughly June-October but sometimes August is pretty good, a bit cloudy but not to hot either like in March/April it's usually stinking hot. There are often more thunderstorms and unsettled weather in June and October at the start/end of wet season and more settle in the middle. July and August are surprisingly two of the busiest tourist months in CM.

#5 Posted: 27/1/2012 - 08:41

• stevejames00

Joined Travelfish
    29th January, 2009