Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Chiang Mai and around for Songkran next weekend!

• whiskieman

Joined Travelfish
    1st February, 2012

Hey guys!

First post here on these forums, but I've been an avid reader for a while now!

I'm a novice Bike rider, but after driving around Ko Pha Ngan and Phuket for a few days, I believe I'm hooked! So I guess it's time to step up the game a little... I'm looking from some expert advice regarding my plans for Northern Thailand during/after Songkran.

So, I managed to buy the very last ticket on one of the overnight trains to Chiang Mai, and will be getting into town on the 11th. I'm hoping to spend that day down in the thai elephant rehab center, and then from the 12th to the 15th it's time to get wet, apparently!

On Monday 15th I wanted to rent a bike (thinking Honda Dream/Wave125cc semi-auto or full-auto... Opinions?) and head up to Pai for two nights, getting back to CNX Wednesday 18th evening, in time to get an overnight bus to Udon Thani (and then onto Laos, as current visa expires on 19th..)

Now,, for the questions:

- How's the weather?!? Has the haze finally began to clear up? has it rained at all these last few days/weeks?

- since Songkran is over the weekend, I understand Monday and Tuesday will be public holidays. Does this affect anything important I should be aware of? Will most people head home by Monday? Or later? Really didn't want to drive in heavy traffic, although I'd imagine heading up north isn't as bad as heading down to Bangkok (is that right?)

- The route! I thought abt going fir the MHS loop, but it really seems a stretch to do it over three days, especially for a lone unexperienced rider such as myself... Ideally I'd like to be riding 3-4 hours/day, not 8-9 hours... So I came up with a mix between the northern section of MHS loop and the shorter Samoeng loop, with a real backroad (Samoeng-Sop Sa) to link the two... As it stands, the plan is:

Day1 - CNX-Samoeng-Wat Chan-Sop Sa-Pai