Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

First time traveller... HELP!!!

• brg93

Joined Travelfish
    4th June, 2012

So this is my first time travelling and I have decided to do it alone. I have booked my tickets and I am leaving the UK on the 17/10. I have no plans for when I land in Thailand, no accomodation planned and I am defiantly gonna be alone. Can anyone offer me any advice? For Example: Where is the best place for travellers to meet new people? Where/How do I get a visa (considering i want to be there for 3 months).

#1 Posted: 5/6/2012 - 15:31

• Advertisement

• longbeach

Joined Travelfish
    28th March, 2012

Need the visa before you go. Ask a travel agent to organise it for you or google the thai embassy. You can apply for a 2 mth single or multi entry visa.

Buy a guide book or print out info from this site and see what appeals.

Are you a man/woman/teenage brat?

#2 Posted: 5/6/2012 - 18:11

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 53
    Places visited:
    At least 48

You'll meet fellow travelers where you might most expect to; the lobby of a hostel, a bar, a tour group. I don't often recommend tour groups, but say you're trying to do a day-trip out to some temple or waterfall, a tour group can be a good way to meet other people who are moving in the same directions as you. Oh, and probably the most common place I've met other travelers has been on the bus/waiting at the bus station. You're headed to the same place and both of you will be looking for a place to stay when you arrive.

#3 Posted: 5/6/2012 - 18:55

• goonistik

Joined Travelfish
    7th January, 2010
    Location Philippines
    Places visited:
    At least 9

You will want to book at least the first night upon arrival at Bangkok. Spares you the problem of looking for a place to stay until you get more oriented.

#4 Posted: 5/6/2012 - 19:09

• longbeach

Joined Travelfish
    28th March, 2012