Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Thailand-trip

• M1412

Joined Travelfish
    9th July, 2012

Hello!

I have booked my ticket, 13th of oct im leaving from Amsterdam to Bangkok for 17 days!
    Got to surfing on the net en omg!So much information!!!!

Read some topics about the same questions i have so i thought what the heck...im gonig to post a topic myself, and ask all the questions/dillemma's im dealing with because it's my first time travelling alone, and want to see as much as possible and so on and so on..

But first things first..i really have doubts about a suitcase or a backpack...because i don't consider myself a backpacking-type..if you know what i mean?Im not a glamful type, but i'd really like to have a suitcase with al my clothing and stuff, and a backpack/bag for during the day..is that possible/practical?

Further on, 1st day in Bangkok planning to stay in the Baiyoke Sky Hotel for the amazing view and a luxurious first day..(i will be landing sunday 14th around noon) and want to take an domestic flight to Chiang Mai, stay there for like 4-5 days, want to see nice things and the golden triangle, wide open for recommendations for stays etc! After that i want to take a flight to Phuket for the weekend, then to Koh Samui, from there a couple of islands onmy way to Bangkok, where i want to stay for like 2 days for Grand Palace and some shopping because i will be leaving oct 30th..So can you experts help me out with a detailed plan, or better tips and prices to keep in mind for the trips i want?

Many thanks in advance!

#1 Posted: 9/7/2012 - 18:10

• Advertisement

• longbeach

Joined Travelfish
    28th March, 2012

I prefer backpacks as they are easier to move when you have stairs or getting onto boats. Suitcases hold more stuff though but really you only need 15kgs. One tip is to pack a mix of old and good clothes. When the old clothes are worn throw them out and then you have space to buy new stuff.

Baiyoke is tall but old rooms.