Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Itinary Advice for Newbie

• HollyN

Joined Travelfish
    13th July, 2012

Hello,

I will travelling Thailand with my friend in end Sep - November, we are looking at doing a 1 month diving course out there and to also travel. We are unsure how to go about this, ie, where about weather wise is best and what times. We where originally looking at doing the diving course all of Nov of Ko Tao, but have read that is the wettest month, so are wondering if we should do the course in Oct, then travel November - December.. but don;t know the best route to take thats the dryest.. Also, if we do travel November, would it be better to start at either Vietnam or Cambodia if the weather would be better then?

Lastly.. (for now lol) any idea of budget for 4 - 5 weeks of travel?

As you can see, I really don't know which is the best option. This is my first time traveling so any help at all would be greatly appriciated!

Thank you in advance to those who reply

#1 Posted: 16/7/2012 - 05:22

• Advertisement

• tezza

Joined Travelfish
    13th April, 2006
    Total reviews: 61

Having seen so many complaints from posters re the shockingly wet periods that can happen in the southern Gulf between November and mid December about one in 4 or 5 years (but not necessarily on a regular basis) and seen the rainfall/wind figures for those particular years, I've always advised travellers that it might be best to avoid that area that time of year unless they really really want to see one of the islands or beaches or go to The Party.

My own personal experience is that my one November visit to Tao way back saw real nice weather. I figure I was lucky - the next year I was on big Ko Chang in mid/late November and there was a constant stream of refugees from Tao/Phangan/Samui complaining of rain, floods, wind and big seas.