Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

6 week travel in HK and SE Asia - HELP. ADVICE NEEDED PLS

• Tai9250

Joined Travelfish
    25th July, 2012

Hello all -

I'm a novice (never been to Asia) and I have 6 weeks to see it all without killing myself from sheer exhaustion and would greatly appreciate your feedback.

My CURRENT itinerary
    HongKong - 6 days ;
    BKK - 4 days;
    ChiangMai/Chiang Rai - 4 days;
    LaungPrabang to Vientiane, Laos - 6 days;
    KL - 4 days;
    Langkawi - 5 days
    Singapore-3 days (if I must drop a country, I would drop Singapore and allocate these 3 days elsewhere)
    Indonesia - 7 days
    HK(base) - 4 days

Yes - it is a lot - quite likely WAY too much. I'm also traveling on my own although I don't think that makes a difference. But if my interests are as follows - temples, beautiful natural scenes, animals (elephants/tigers), a few hikes/treks (easy tho) , the beach (I live in the Caribbean); fantastic food; great massages/spas and just truly capturing the essence of each country -- what would you recommend?

I also looking at the quickest ways to get between locations which will be mostly flights on Air Asia and a sleeper train here and there. Nevertheless, I am open to ideas and I will continue to do my research.

#1 Posted: 25/7/2012 - 10:57

• Advertisement

• chinarocks

Joined Travelfish
    17th June, 2011

You're right, it is a lot!! But on the bright side at least you acknowledge this and have provided some of your interests.

A few comments:

1) Is HK a must, seen as it is taking up roughly one quarter of your time?

2) I think Laos and Thailand would tick all of your boxes in terms of your interests. If HK is a must then do 2 or 2.5 weeks in each country, if it isn't then consider 3 weeks in each country. Presumably you can fly into Bangkok from somewhere near you (i.e. US).

#2 Posted: 25/7/2012 - 11:04

• Tai9250

Joined Travelfish
    25th July, 2012