Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Bangkok/Ko Chang Questions (10 day trip)

• eslavet

Joined Travelfish
    26th April, 2007

Hi, I'm new to travelfish- We're flying into BKK Suvarnabhumi late at night, and want to leave early the next morning for the east coast. (We have only 10 days total in Thailand, so we don't want to waste a lot of time travelling....) So I have a number of questions:
    1) Where to stay for one quick night near the airport?
    2) What do you think is the quickest way to get to nice beaches/destinations? We're thinking of heading to East Coast/Ko Chang. We're not against buses/trains if they are scenic/somewhat comfortable... Is it worth taking the bus from the BKK airport and stopping in Rayong City on the way to Ko Chang?
    3) We arrive late Monday night and want to get back to Bangkok by Friday night so that we can hit the big market on Saturday morning. What's the best way to get to the island-scene (not into discos etc, more into chilled out beach-time, exploring, 'local' color, people-watching, waterfalls, maybe an elephant ride?)
    4) Another question: is the Chatuchak market in Bangkok also open on Sundays??? (or only Saturdays) THANKS!!!
    (sorry, I posted part of this message in reply to island-query, but now I've discovered how to start my own topic)

#1 Posted: 26/4/2007 - 08:11

• Advertisement

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Welcome to Travelfish eslavet -- glad you figureed the messageboard out!

Just to answer your questions in a roundabout fashion, the quickest way to get to Trat (for Ko Chang) is to fly with Bangkok Airways, last time I checked, they have three flights a day -- all go from Suvanabhumi (the new airport). If you're planning on flying then it kind of makes sense to overnight somewhere near the airport, but if not, then you'll be going by bus.