Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

6 weeks in Thailand. Suggestions?

• GhettoGepet-
    to

Joined Travelfish
    8th January, 2013

Hiya fellow travelers, first time posting.

So, I leave for a 6 week backpacking trip to Thailand next Monday (1/14). I have some ideas of places I'd like to go to and things I'd like to see. Being it's my first time there, I would like to hear from you what you would do, traveling all around the country on a six week trip (landing in BKK and quickly getting on the road) and must see places.

I'm on a pretty tight budget (1000bt - 2000bt a day), and my main interests are seeing temples, Muay Thai, maybe some beaches and just soaking up as much culture and refreshing my spirit. Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions. Cheers and happy travels to you all!

#1 Posted: 8/1/2013 - 17:31

• Advertisement

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Hmmm, for a first time visit to Thailand, I'd suggest a gladbag of destinations along the lines of the following and I've suggested some links after each for more reading:

Bangkok (food, temples, muay thai)
    Sukhothai OR Ayutthaya (food, historic ruins)
    Where to stay in Sukhothi
    More on Sukhothia

Chiang Mai (food, temples)
    Temples in CM

Pai OR Chiang Dao OR Soppong (all three are trekking centres and quite pretty. Pai is the most touristy of the 3)
    Chiang Dao getaway

Thailand has three main sets of islands, the east, the southeast and the southwest -- all three have good weather now. We have a lot of material on islands, and a lot would depend on if your main priority is to dive, party or chill out (I know there's a lot of grey in there, but with a bit more info from you can make some more helpful suggestions).

In the meantime, here's some links to a bunch more reading...
    Andaman sea islands
    Gulf islands