Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Cycling trip - Bangkok to Singapore Via the East Coast of Malaysia

• Enduro

Joined Travelfish
    10th January, 2013

Hi,

I'm looking at doing a cycle trip from Bangkok to Singapore over 4 weeks in March. Although I've had a lot of experiance in cycle touring this is my first time with the Bike in Asia. I was wondering if anyone could advise the best way of getting out of the Bangkok area as I've heard it's very busy on the roads ( like any big city) Is it possible to take my bike on a train and head to the outskirts ? Or does anyone know of a bike friendly way out ?

I've been reading plenty of warnings about the Narathwat and Pattani areas down south. Are they dangerious as they sound and do you think a cycle tourist would have any problems getting through. I really want to stick to the East Coast of Malaysia and if I enter via the west Coast of Thailand that would mean a long detour via the Central Tablelands.

Thanks in advance for any advice given

#1 Posted: 10/1/2013 - 21:15

• Advertisement

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Hi Enduro,

Yes you can stick your bike on the train (or bus).

I'm going to point you in the direction of some blog entries written by a couple of Travelfish writers who cycled from Bangkok to Singapore about a year ago. It's split across three blogs and a bit out of order for some random reason unfortunately, but you should be able to make sense of it.

The Thailand section is here this one in particular covers the trip out of Bangkok, but is a bit vague on routing.
    A brief on the Malaysian bit
    Arrival in Sg