Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Solo 25yr M thailand mid jan 2013

• Zakpriestley

Joined Travelfish
    9th May, 2013

Hi guys,
    I've taken the plunge and decided to go to thailand alone in jan 2013,its my first time traveling as well,its fair to say I'm a bit nervous but I just want an adventure and go wind takes me really,don't really have many plans maybe a scuba course and trekking in the north but nothing concrete.
    I was just wanting some advice on where to meet people and to see if anyone else is planning on heading out there at the same time and wouldn't mind meeting up so it seems less scary lol thanks Zak

#1 Posted: 9/5/2013 - 12:58

• Advertisement

• CarbonBased

Joined Travelfish
    1st January, 2013

January 2013 is history my friend you mean 2014?

#2 Posted: 9/5/2013 - 20:42

• tezza

Joined Travelfish
    13th April, 2006
    Total reviews: 61

I reckon the best combination of dive outfits and plenty of younger people to meet are found at Kos Tao and Phi Phi. I'm not a diver but I have an idea Tao has more dive areas close to the island - plus even lately when the place has become popular with a big range of general travellers, divers are its biggest single group of visitors. On Phi Phi the dive community is swamped by day-trippers, general tourists and backpackers in roughly that order.
    Technically Tao gets a bit more rain than Phi Phi in January, particularly early in the month - but in practice I don't think this is a big deal - I'm a weather nerd and would not avoid Tao in January.
    Both islands are good to jump to nearby attractive destinations. With Tao you have Ko Phangan and Ko Samui a shortish ferry ride away. With Phi Phi we are talking Ko Lanta, Ko Jum, Krabi and Phuket. All are kinda equal in the meeting people category although Jum is very laid back and could be a bit quiet depending where you stay and who is there.

Unless you can afford to fly to nearby airports, Tao is quicker/cheaper to reach from Bangkok.