Photo: Almost Maldivian at Ao Noi, Ko Kut.

Thailand forum

When is the best time to go?

Posted by Brad9290 on 10/5/2013 at 07:29

I'm a student and have just finished my third year, and have saved money from my 21st to go travelling. I have roughly £4000 before my flight to spend so reckon I could do a good couple of months there with the aim to go Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia.

I am looking to do the experience by myself but I'm currently unsure when to go. My graduation is in July, so I am not sure whether to go straight after that or wait until February time and earn some more money. The reason for this is because I'm not sure about monsoon season.

From people who have experience is the monsoon season is it a pain and did it effect your travels?

Do you think I'd be better off waiting to go in February or do you think July would be a better time to go.

#1 Brad9290 has been a member since 10/5/2013. Posts: 1

Posted by Captain_Bob on 10/5/2013 at 08:31

July/August can be pretty wet, but in the tropics that more often than not translates as steamy hot days with afternoon or evening thundershowers. Occasionally you get adversity like landslides and temporary road blockage or localised flash floods with calf-high water in the streets, but usually as long as you stick to sealed roads you'll be fine. The upside to rain is it makes everything grow and takes the edge off the heat, and some of those run-for-cover thunderbursts are fun. If you want less chance of rain wait until December, except of course it gets crowded with xmas/ny-season tourists. Ideally for dry season wait until just after new year and stay for Jan/Feb before it heats up. In my opinion the worst time to be here, especially in the northern/interior region is March/April when the air gets very hot and polluted from farmers burning their fields. That's when you escape to the southern beaches.

#2 Captain_Bob has been a member since 27/5/2006. Location: Thailand. Posts: 1,819