Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

3-month SEA itinerary - please critique

• adaminasia

Joined Travelfish
    22nd July, 2013

Hi,

I am taking a 3-month solo trip from September through November to Southeast Asia, leaving in just a few weeks. This is my first time going and I am really excited! Travelfish has been super helpful to see other people's itineraries and learn more about the area, so thanks to this community! I'm hoping for a life changing / building new perspectives type of experience. Not sure whether/if I'll make it back to this region so I've packed in a lot.

I'd love to get your thoughts on my itinerary below. Would you change how long I'm spending in certain areas? See other areas / do other unique things? Other areas I considered but cut out include Vietnam, Myanmar, Hong Kong/Southern China, and Taiwan - open to figuring out ways to work any of those areas in, but I also didn't want the trip to be too rushed and miss out on being able to really experience the different areas.

Really appreciate any advice you may be able to provide! Thanks!

MY 3-MONTH SEA ITINERARY

Singapore - 11 days (this is for a work function, so I can't go for any less time than 11 days)

Fly from Singapore -> Yogyyakarta, INDONESIA
    Yogyyakarta - 1 day
    Mount Bromo - 1 day
    Ubud, Bali - 3 days
    Lombok - Rinjani - 3 days, hike
    Gili Islands - 2 days, relax from hike

Fly from Bali to Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Kuala Lumpur - 2 days
    Cameron Highlands - 3 days, trekking
    Penang - 2 days

Fly from Penang to Ko Samui (or Surat Thani), then ferry to Koh Tao, THAILAND
    Koh Tao - 4 days, get scuba certified
    Chumphon - 1 day
    Bangkok - 6 days, including day trips to Ayutthaya, Samut Songkhram, and Damnoen Saduak
    Chiang Mai - 15 days, including a 10-day Vipassana beginner meditation course (alternatively, would be open to other locations for beginners, to break-up this and the Kung Fu course I'm taking in Pai)
    Mae Hong Son - 2 days