Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Solo female traveler with questions!

• adbeats06

Joined Travelfish
    22nd October, 2013
    Location Canada

Hello fellow travelers,

I will be flying to Bangkok in January 2014 to spend 3-4 weeks traveling around as a solo female traveler. After reading many reviews, blogs, and listening to friends I have been told Lub D guesthouse (GH) in BKK is a great place to stay as a solo traveler... can anyone who has stayed there confirm this for me? Or alternatively direct me to a GH they prefer?

Also, I was hoping someone might be able to rec'md their favorite GH in Chaing Mai. I am on somewhat of a budget however willing and able to pay for a nicer room if a/c is needed and suggested. As this is my first time in Thailand its hard to conceptualize the weather in January (especially being from Canada!). In addition, if anyone could rec'md their favorite tours in CH (elephant treks, river rafting etc) that would be greatly appreciated. I'm a huge animal lover so it is important to me that the elephants are well looked after and not made to do tricks.

Lastly, any suggestions and travel tips (safety, what to avoid etc) of being a solo female traveler would be amazing.

Thanks in advance
    :)

A.

#1 Posted: 23/10/2013 - 00:13

• Advertisement

• altmtl

Click here to learn more about altmtl
    Joined Travelfish
    18th May, 2009
    Location Earth
    Total reviews: 5

Something tells me that you're a "solo female traveller" - :)

-You can check reviews for various hostels on many websites like hostel world or trip advisor ...
    http://www.travelfish.org/accommodation_profile/thailand/bangkok_and_surrounds/bangkok/bangrak/all/3879
    -I use couchsurfing in BK & CM
    -In January it's hot - a little cooler at night if you're in the north i.e Sappong/Pai
    -As for tours, they are many in CM offering more or less the same thing - it's a question of doing research online.