Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

A good place to post up in Thailand for cheap?

• Skittens

Joined Travelfish
    1st January, 2014

Hi. I'm a writer currently in Thailand. I'm going to be doing some traveling around Asia with a friend for the next month or so, but after that I'm going to be looking for a place to post up and get some work done. Ideally I would like to find a place that is relatively inexpensive and laid back, a mix of travelers and locals, and the opportunity to socialize when I want but also a place to recede to when I want to work or chill or read. Of course this is all personal preference, but I'm open to ideas. I've heard Pai could be a good place? Anyway, thank ya'll in advance.

#1 Posted: 19/1/2014 - 09:00

• Advertisement

• LeonardCohe-
    n1

Joined Travelfish
    24th July, 2012
    Total reviews: 11

Not a fan of Pai. I'd go for somewhere like Lanta or Chang but I'm a beach person.

#2 Posted: 20/1/2014 - 08:44

• Tilapia

Click here to learn more about Tilapia
    Joined Travelfish
    21st April, 2006
    Location Canada
    Total reviews: 15
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Nong Khai is good. Easy to get to, on the Mekong with direct access to Laos, lots of decent places to retreat to both east and west, major city an hour south, moderate ex-pat scene, not too busy with tourists, good infrastructure.

Trat and Chanthaburi are also very nice, laid back towns that most people skip.

If you don't mind being landlocked, I think that Sukhothai is a great town with lots of inexpensive accommodations.

Kanchanaburi would also be a good option.

Prachuap Khiri Khan would be a good choice if you want to be on the Gulf. It's on the train line, has good accommodations, a growing ex-pat community, excellent and inexpensive seafood, and is also skipped by most visitors to the country.

#3 Posted: 20/1/2014 - 13:37

• exacto

Joined Travelfish
    12th February, 2006
    Location United States
    Total reviews: 47
    Places visited: