Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Entering Thailand

• joenel

Joined Travelfish
    17th October, 2007

I am going to Thailand from Canada on january 15th for my first time. its my first time travelling out of North America/Mexico and plan on doing a few visa runs. after Thailand i am going down to Malaysia and Indo, followed by OZ. i am staying in OZ for a year on a holiday marker work visa.

Does anyone know, if i book a one way ticket to Thailand, do i need to book a bus ticket leaving the country? or can i simply just book one when i get there? usually i know you have to have an exit ticket. If i do need one can anyone tell me where is the safest place to book the ticket?

Any help anyone can give will help me.

Thanks in advanced.

#1 Posted: 17/10/2007 - 02:11

• Advertisement

• goo_stewart

Joined Travelfish
    10th October, 2007

Ok, by law (and the latest directives by Immigration) you should show a return ticket to qualify for the 30 day visa waiver scheme. There are signs up at the major points of entry. However, I have traveled in without any problems and a friendly smile from the immigration guy. It really does depend on his (or her) mood. I traveled through a land border a couple of months back, with a sign saying I must show a return
    ticket on the desk, but they gave me a 30 day stamp without any return ticket. I did have my bicycle with me which was kinda proof of onward travel!

The most likely scenario is that you will be stopped boarding your aircraft without a visa. I know it seems ridiculous that they sell you a ticket then won't let you board, but thats what may happen. The airlines are far more fussy than Thai immigration.

I don't know a place where you can buy a bus ticket outside the country, but you can book train tickets on-line. The other option is Asias many no-frills airlines.

#2 Posted: 17/10/2007 - 06:00

• ruxandra

Joined Travelfish
    6th April, 2006
    Total reviews: 2

Hi there,