Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Help / advice needed please guys!

• russ0001

Joined Travelfish
    6th April, 2008

Hi, I am a student looking to travel to thaiand in June for around 20 days. I have never done any real travelling before so this will be a first for me. I have saved around £250 to spend during my travels. I am planning on arriving in bankok, staying here for a few days then moving on.. I will probably visit 4/5 diferent places including some of the Islands. I would like to know if people think that £250 is a reasonable sum for such a holiday. I know this is somewhat vague but i dont know much of the prices i will be looking at for accomodation, food and trains. Does anyone have any advice for me? thanks alot

#1 Posted: 6/4/2008 - 21:16

• Advertisement

• Jon_Mak_Mak

Click here to learn more about Jon_Mak_Mak
    Joined Travelfish
    21st February, 2007
    Location United Kingdom
    Total reviews: 5

Hi Russ, Personally I would be taking more than £250. What if you had an emergency?!! At least take a credit card or somthing as a backup. Thailand CAN be very. But as you say, its your first time travelling there so you will be spending more than if you were familier with the place.

Good luck.

#2 Posted: 6/4/2008 - 22:58

• tezza

Joined Travelfish
    13th April, 2006
    Total reviews: 61

In my last couple of recent trips I averaged $us35 a day on everything once off the aircraft. I travel single and move on often which increases spending, stay budget but not dumps, ditto food, drink a fair amount of booze but don't party hard, do a moderate amount of extras like snorkelling trips.

#3 Posted: 7/4/2008 - 06:27

• Lother

Joined Travelfish
    12th May, 2006
    Location Earth
    Total reviews: 31