Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Thai-American Shopper Verbally and Physically Assulted by Store Owner at MBK Mall- June 30th 2008

• MellyMel

Joined Travelfish
    3rd July, 2008

Greetings all.

I am a travel writer who went shopping and was verbally and physically assaulted by a shop owner 2 days ago at the MBK shopping mall. I am writing this as a warning to travelers and shoppers on the many various levels of customer service in this country. Some shop owners in Thailand are very nice and helpful, while others are very rude and nasty, and to warn against supporting this kind of service, or therefore lack of.

First off I would like to state that I am Thai-American. I am very proud (although sometimes slightly culturally confused) to be 50% Thai and 50% American and respect what both cultures, in all their colorful contrasts, bring to my plate. However it is a sad day when one has difficult interactions with such contradictory behavior so prevalent in other parts of Thai cultures.

The difficult interaction: being verbally (first) the physically assaulted (second) by a store owner at the MBK mall 2 days ago.

The contradictory behavior: the idea of Thais being friendly welcoming people to foreigners - unless of course you look foreign, but can understand Thai you can hear all the horrid things people are saying about you or other foreign shoppers, which is what goes on among the majority of shop owners in MBK.

What started out with me shopping in the same shop more than once and not buying anything fast enough ended in the security office that afternoon. I have tried to write in short, the details of what went on… but after 3 attempts at writing a summary it is impossible.