Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

first time in Thailand, November~ ideas, suggestions?

• pamjane

Joined Travelfish
    5th June, 2009

My girlfriend and I are planning to travel through Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia in late September, then in November and December (after a month’s obligation in Phuket ). I think I’ve figured out a tentative route (kudos to this site and LP) for Thailand.

This is my first time in SE Asia (yay!), and I’d very much appreciate any thoughts and suggestions from seasoned travelers. What I’m most interested in is culture and talking with/watching people, scenery, and having interesting experiences. I also love swimming, and especially clear spring/waterfall action.

September:
    mid Sept-Fly into Phuket
    (2 weeks)
    find month-long accommodation (http://www.travelfish.org/board/post/thailand/6586_)
    bus to Surat Thani
    ferry to Ko Tao (complete PADI course)
    ferry back through Ko Phangan, Ko Samui
    bus back to Phuket Town
    **question: would a short trip (maybe 2 days) to Krabi be worth it in September? we will spend a good bit of time on Ko Tao and Ko Phangan, and I don’t want to spend too much extra money if Krabi beaches will be rainy and not really good at this time... there’s a possibility of visiting Krabi in early November.

October:
    stay in Phuket Town

The real adventure will start in November (I hope to do this part of the trip in about 3.5~4 weeks):
    -Phuket (fly>) Bangkok
    **Should there be 2~3 days around Krabi planned here first, then Bangkok from Krabi?

-Bangkok (no time here, as i’ll be returning in Jan.) (train>) Phitsanulok

-Phitsanulok (1d) (bus>) Sukhothai

-Sukhothai and Si Satchanalai (2d) (bus>) Mae Sot

-Mae Sot (sawngthaew>) Umphang

-Umphang (4~5d, including trek) (sawngthaew>) Mae Sot

-Mae Sot (bus>) Mae Sariang