Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

How much clothing to pack!

• benhopes

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009

It is my first time I'm travelling to Thailand, Laos and Malaysia for 5 weeks. I'm not sure how much to pack!

T Shirts - how many?
    Short sleeved shirts? I believe these are useful for when its warm.
    Cargo pants / Combats?
    Do shorts need to be below knee level!!

Help :) Pleeease!!

#1 Posted: 5/7/2009 - 01:26

• Advertisement

• Thaiman

Click here to learn more about Thaiman
    Joined Travelfish
    12th November, 2008

Hi Ben
    If I were you I'd just take the minimun.say 3-4 T shirts,couple of short-sleeved shirts,perhaps one pair of long trousers and 3 pairs of shorts.Shorts don't have to be below knee level but it is considered polite if they are longer and loose fitting.Clothing is cheap in Asia and if you need more it is a simple process to buy some at the department store or market.{cheaper at the market]Hope this helps.

#2 Posted: 5/7/2009 - 04:49

• BruceMoon

Click here to learn more about BruceMoon
    Joined Travelfish
    27th December, 2008
    Location Australia
    Total reviews: 6

Ben

Take as little as possible - for two reasons.

1/.

Non-Asians dress like, well, non-Asians!!! The longer term traveller very quickly learns that dressing like a non-Asian means they are often the target of scammers, touts, etc. So, if you plan to buy clothes as needed when in Asia, (hopefully) you'll buy clothes that don't make you look like a newbie traveller.

2/.

Clothes in Asia can be very cheap. And, buying them there means you also have momento's to take home.

So, I'd suggest 2 t-shirts, 1 pr of long pants, 2 pr shorts (longish & loose). A pair of good quality (preferably leather) sandals, 1 pr joggers (ie like Nike style), and a decent light weight raincoat/cape.

Also, go look at:

http://www.travelfish.org/board/post/travelgear/6441_traditional-backpack--vs--hybrid-pack

Maybe also look at: