Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

1 month whistlestop tour of SE Asia - Possible?

• rick108

Joined Travelfish
    9th July, 2009

Hi

Firstly apologises for the long-ish message but I really want to get the most out of SE Asia.

I'm a final year medical student and have a medical elective, which is basically where I can travel and experience medicine
    anywhere in the world.

Due to last minute cancellations from my previous destination I was fortunate enough to organise an elective
    in Mae Sot in Thailand in a refugee camp, which starts in September. However I arrive in Thailand on August 3rd and plan to travel around SE Asia. My placement starts at the beginning of September and finishes on the 30 September. I then leave on 3rd October from Bangkok to London.

I only have a month in August to travel but I wanted to make the most of it! I plan to get all internal SE Asian flights sorted by the 12 June because its basically when the amazing deals from AirAsia end.

My aim is to see as much as I can of SE Asia. I have no preference where to go - just want to see a variety of interesting things.

I first arrive in Bangkok but thought its best to spend probably 1 day thailand then move elsewhere as I'll be spending most of my time in Thailand in September.

I have seen this link: http://wikitravel.org/en/One_month_in_Southeast_Asia
    is this a good iternary? any other ideas? any must-see-before-you-die places?

I don't mind what I see just a variety of cool things.

I also have some questions with regards to Visas. I have been trying to call these embassies all day but they seem not to want to pick up!

1) Thailand:

a) I assume I have to get a 60 day tourist visa? However, I'll only be in Thailand for a little while and then shooting off elsewhere. Then I'll return so could get it renewed at the border checkpoints?

b) Have long does it take to return your passport and give a Visa? Site says minimum 2 days but what's the normal time?