Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

2 Week Thailand Itinery (comments and suggestions welcome)

• Geezy

Joined Travelfish
    27th July, 2009

Hi All,

I'm going to Thailand for 2 weeks next week. I have never been before and this is my first time away travelling on my own. I am 28 years old. I am really excited and fearful at the same time (healthy fear). I have made a final itinery which goes like this -

Fly into BKK

Spend 3 days in Bangkok then get the day train to Chang Mai and spend 3 days there (i've heard the day train is best for the scenery)

Take a flight from Chang Mai to Ko Samui spend the rest of my holiday there and amongst the islands and then fly back to BKK to return home.

I know 2 weeks is a short time but does this seem 'do-able' to people? And also, what are the costs likely to be?

Ta

Geezy

#1 Posted: 12/8/2009 - 17:31

• Advertisement

• Jon_Mak_Mak

Click here to learn more about Jon_Mak_Mak
    Joined Travelfish
    21st February, 2007
    Location United Kingdom
    Total reviews: 5

Hi,

Yes that seems totally fine to me. Will you be taking the night train to Chang Mai so you can sleep on the train? I cant remember exactly but it's something like a 10/12 hour train ride. It would be nice in the day but it would be like wasting a day. If you go at night and sleep on the train you save a night's hotel cost and also still get the good scenery when you wake in the morning.

If you do the night train and your on your own 2nd class might be better as you will be in the coach with lots of other people. If you choose 1st class you could end up in a small compartment with another person you don't know - Thai or western/other, male or female (although apparently they try to match sex)

Flying from Chang Mai to the south is fine as I have done before but we actually flew to BKK and then catch another flight to the south (Krabi that time) but BKK to Samui is possible too.