Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

looking for a great place to shack up for a month or two

• owsleybeck

Joined Travelfish
    1st May, 2007

I am getting booted out of China for a month or two as i have been working here for more than 5 years. I am hoping to find a great place to stay maybe in a bungalow that has great facilities that is affordable maybe some place that I can stay for a few months at a decent rate. I'm not really interested in staying in a city.

#1 Posted: 16/9/2009 - 15:44

• Advertisement

• idreamofdur-
    ian

TF writer
    Click here to learn more about idreamofdurian
    Joined Travelfish
    5th September, 2008
    Location Singapore
    Total reviews: 4

How soon are you getting booted out of China?

High season is coming up, so beach towns are going to start filling up and prices will rise. Your best bet for cheap long-term accommodations is the established backpacker-friendly islands like Ko Tao, Ko Phangan, or Ko Lanta. Lots of people stay there for weeks (or months) at a time, so wrangling yourself a longterm discount should be easy.

I can't make any specific recommendations for the islands as I haven't been out there recently, but here's one for Phuket that I know does good monthly rates. I know you said no cities, but Phuket is big and you could rent a motorbike and explore a new beach every day :)

Joe Mansion: ~5,500 B per month + util

#2 Posted: 16/9/2009 - 16:17

• Tilapia

Click here to learn more about Tilapia
    Joined Travelfish
    21st April, 2006
    Location Canada
    Total reviews: 15
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Maybe consider one of the Mekong riverside towns in the NE, in particular Sangkhom, Chiang Khan, or the biggest of the bunch, Nong Khai. Even NK has a small town feel to it.

All of them have great, inexpensive places to stay, have all the facilities most people could want, and are not busy with tourists.

#3 Posted: 16/9/2009 - 18:53

• Tilapia

Joined Travelfish
    21st April, 2006