Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

New Year in Tahiland 2009

• elgeras

Joined Travelfish
    4th November, 2009

Hello!!!!

My girlfriend and I are going to spend new year in thailand. By the 27th of december we will be in Phuket, willing to travel around or to the islands.

We want to party a bit, but not blow our brains out. What city or island and what place do you recommend us to be in new year with out spending $hundresd$ in accomodation?

#1 Posted: 5/11/2009 - 00:03

• Advertisement

• cassrose

Joined Travelfish
    13th September, 2009

Hey Elgeras

Im not experienced but im doing the same as you so have done heaps of research. A friend and I are spending new year at Koh Phangan (full moon party). We booked accom there a few months ago and it was pretty hard to get then so don't fancy ya chances. Could stay on Koh Samui and catch a boat there though.

I looked at a place called Railay Beach, can get there from Phuket by boat. http://www.railay.com/railay/intro/intro.shtml
    Looks lovely and has lots to do.... also info here http://www.travelfish.org/location/thailand/southern_thailand/krabi/railay_beach

Hope that helps!

#2 Posted: 5/11/2009 - 09:52

• tezza

Joined Travelfish
    13th April, 2006
    Total reviews: 61

Thing is, no matter where you are, chances be that there will be a pretty good party going on at your bungalow's restaurant/bar. On one of the less attractive islands beach-wise, the nicest budget resort I've been to in Thailand, Ko Siboya Bungalows, throws a pretty awsome Xmas Party because it has so many long time regulars - I should imagine New Year is much the same.
    http://www.siboyabungalows.com/index.html

But okay, you probably want an attractive island/beach to party a bit, "but not blow yer brains out".