Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Lake Safari from Bangkok, a new and unique experience in Thailand. Trip report

• jonasnilsso-
    n888

Joined Travelfish
    1st December, 2009

Hey Fellow travelers and expats, I have been traveling in Thailand for many years and I d I just had my best Thailand experience, One of our friends old us about this trip that he and his family had just been on and it sounded very exiting and different. They had been on a 4 day lake safari trip on the Khao Laem lakes in the Kanchanaburi province. We booked the trip looked forward to this unknown adventure. We got picked up from our hotel in Bangkok and went to Kanchanaburi, where we visited the River Kwai Bridge and had a delicious Thai lunch. Then we drove on to Sangkhlaburi and borded the House Boat, it was only us and 8 other people, so it was private and very cosy. Then we set of and spend the next 4 days on this traditional Thai houseboat, cruising around Khao Laem Lake and it was great. It’s a part that is not discovered by mass tourism yet, its unique and a truly great and unique experience. We just relaxed and enjoyed ourselves for 4 days in one of the most beautiful spots I have seen in Thailand. The boat is great, the food is great and you get to see and experience something that most people don’t know exist. Every day there are some great activities and in the 4 days we were there, we went jungle trekking into a waterfall, we visited an island where the make some special coconuts, we did some kayaking into caves, visited a real and authentic village close to the Myanmar border, a monastery, did some real elephant trekking and bamboo rafting, not the normal tourist kind. In the evening we just swam, fished, floated around in tubes, used the kayaks, relaxed in a hammock with a book, enjoyed some great Thai food and a cold beer and played some games or talked about our experiences that day. I know ill not forget it, it’s special, different and unique, it’s for everybody and we ju