Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

First time in Thailand March 12-22..need advise!

• ELE1

Joined Travelfish
    28th January, 2010

HI All
    I just bought a plane ticket to Bankgok for the period above and this is my first time in Asia at all and I can't wait!
    I need some suggestions from expert travellers on how I can take the most out of my 10 days in Thailand.
    We would like to visit Bangkok and then fly to Southern Islands for some sea and nature kind of holiday and also a bit of party :)
    So, in this period middle March is it better to go to Ko Samui area or to Krabi area? Where are the better weather condition? And which area would you suggest at all to spend a week on my first trip to Thailand?
    Looking forward to hearing your advise!
    Ele

#1 Posted: 28/1/2010 - 19:23

• Advertisement

• tezza

Joined Travelfish
    13th April, 2006
    Total reviews: 61

Both areas have similar weather in March - normally good dry season stuff.

Hard to say which is the better - Krabi has the more spectacular scenery but Samui is not shabby in this respect. Samui has the bigger range of accommodation and will not be as crowded as the popular Railay area of Krabi. Both areas are getting a reputation for being a bit overdone, but I reckon they are still real good places to visit.

Both places have good access to other islands - from Samui to Phangan and from Krabi to Lanta. Both these are arguably the best all round islands in Thailand.
    You can also easily get to Phi Phi and laid back Ko Jum from Krabi and to Ko Tao from Samui/Phangan.

#2 Posted: 28/1/2010 - 19:50

• ELE1

Joined Travelfish
    28th January, 2010

Thanks Tezza for the advice! I have a further question :) ...if I choose Krabi area, where should I stay? Better pick one location and do day trips to other beaches / islands or should I sleep in different places?
    Also, Shall I book in advance the accomodation or is it easy to find directly at arrival? Thanks!!!