Flag of Thailand

Thailand forum

Help on my 5 week itinerary: Thailand, Laos, Cambodia (Vietnam)

• snowowl

Joined Travelfish
    22nd February, 2010

Hi, I'm (26 year old girl) flying from Tokyo to South East Asia the 16th of March. The idea was to fly directly from Tokyo to Bangkok and start the trip there. I have from the 16th of March until approximetaly the 19th of April (almost 5 weeks).
    I have been looking at a lot of itineraries and I am so confused. I would love to be able to go to Thailand, Laos, Cambodia (and possibly Vietnam) but the problem is that I only have 5 weeks and I have to choose the places carefully, because I don’t want to spend the entire time on a bus or on a train.

I am new at this and I’m travelling solo (which is both scary and exciting at the same time), so it would be great if you could share your wisdom with me and give me feedback, I would really appreciate it.

I would like to get back to Thailand and end the trip on one of the islands. I was wondering what would be the best way to get there from Vietnam?
    I haven’t bought the flightticket home yet but I was thinking about flying from Bangkok to London. Any other suggestions on how or where I should end the trip and from where I should fly back to England?

This is just a rough itinerary, and I was hoping you guys could tell me which places I should definetaly see so I know what to skip.

Thailand – Laos – Cambodia – Vietnam – (Back to Thailand)

1. Bangkok
    2. Kanchanaburi
    3. Sukhotahai
    4. Chiang Mai
    5. Houayxai to louang Phaband – boat trip down the Mekong River
    6. Vientiane
    7. Savannakhet
    8. Si Phan Don
    9. Kratie
    10. (Angkor)
    11. Phnom Penh
    12. Sihanoukville
    13. Ho Chi Minh City
    14. Mekong Delta
    15. Phu Quoc
    16. Mui Ne
    17. Nha Trang
    18. Hoi An
    19. Hue
    20. Hanoi
    21. Ha Long Bay – unesco
    22. Sa Pa
    23. Back to Thailand somehow?

I would love to hear some new ideas!