Gear and equipment forum

dry bags?

• christay2009

Joined Travelfish
    8th February, 2009
    Location United Kingdom
    Total reviews: 4

i understand the value of having a dry bag...in that it keeps things dry! but what kind of things do you put in them and what kind of size is good to have? i see they vary from tiny to absolutely huge

i guess it would be good to have one for my electronics but do you really need one for clothes too?

this may sound like a total beginner question [because it is!]

thanks again

#1 Posted: 30/7/2009 - 16:29

• Advertisement

• fivesilver

Joined Travelfish
    3rd August, 2008
    Total reviews: 7

Posted from within Vietnam.

Bought a 30L bag for a snorkelling trip off Koh Chang - 3 months later it's one of my favourite purchases. Been travelling through quite a few rainy spots. Currently biking through Vietnam - it sits nicely between my knees.
    Inside? My passport (and the wife's). Various things that we use regularly and at short notice (so we don't have to root them out of the bags on the rack). And if the rain starts to fall, the cameras come off our shoulders, the wallet comes out of my pocket and all goes into the bag.

#2 Posted: 30/7/2009 - 17:09

• busylizzy

Joined Travelfish
    31st December, 2007
    Location New Zealand
    Total reviews: 20
    Places visited:
    At least 107

And SBE (I think!) made a great suggestion for use of a dry bag. Normally, it keeps the water out, but it can also be used to keep the water IN - for washing clothes when your guesthouse doesn't have a plug in the sink!

I bought a smallish one (either the 15 or 25 litre one - can't remember) that will hold the electronics, but that will also be useful for keeping a few things dry when I go on kayaking daytrips. I wouldn't want one much bigger as they can add weight to your pack.

#3 Posted: 31/7/2009 - 07:56

• BruceMoon

Click here to learn more about BruceMoon
    Joined Travelfish
    27th December, 2008
    Location Australia