Health and safety forum

How easy is it to get malaria meds in Cambodia-and did you have any other jabs?

• newbiedanie-
    lle

Joined Travelfish
    5th August, 2010

Hey, just got a slight enquiry about obtaining malaria meds in Cambodia. Basically, Im going to be heading out earlier than I origanally planned to Cambodia (then Laos and Thailand) and have thus lost my appointment at the doctors for getting my jabs and prescriptions for trop diseases. How easy would it be to get some anti-malarials in Cambodia, as I won't have prescription-although I have been researching the different ones and doxycycline looks to be the way to go. Also what other jabs did people get for the areas I'm going to? I'm a nurse so I've already had all the hepatitis innoculations, and tuberculosis. I've also read about a immunisation certificate. How exactly does this work and would it matter that I don't have one?

Thanks for any input you may have, Danielle

#1 Posted: 9/9/2010 - 22:09

• Advertisement

• Indoluso

Joined Travelfish
    22nd December, 2009

I was in the wet season in indochina and took anti malarials... and only "ate" half a box... once you re there you forget about malaria.

#2 Posted: 9/9/2010 - 22:20

• Indoluso

Joined Travelfish
    22nd December, 2009

for the jabs I did hep A and B, thyphoid and tetanus. forget about rabies...

#3 Posted: 9/9/2010 - 22:21

• faineg

Click here to learn more about faineg
    Joined Travelfish
    4th November, 2010
    Location United States
    Total reviews: 2

Well, you forget about malaria until you get it. I hear varying opinions on this one. The fact is, Cambodia has *especially* nasty malaria when compared to the rest of Southeast Asia, and malaria is not fun at all if you're unlucky enough to get it. My grandfather contracted a case in the swamps of Louisiana when he was a kid in the 1930's. He still gets attacks.