Health and safety forum

Japanese Encephalitis Vaccination Information

• Stonie

Joined Travelfish
    15th August, 2013

Before I left on my travels for SE Asia I was undecided about having my JE jab as I think many people are. I traulled through lots of posts on various forums and websites looking for further info and advice. I wanted to share my experience with you as I think many will find it useful.

I am not a doctor and this is simply based on my experience and understanding of the topic.

When I visited my GP prior to leaving on my travels I was advised that the JE vaccination used in the UK was derived from mouse brain and was known to have a number of potentially nasty side effects and a reasonable risk of complications. My nurse advised me that I did not need it.

After further research I discovered that the derivative of the vaccine that the nurse discussed with me was outdated and had been replaced by a new and much safer vaccine known as Ixiaro which is based on a non-active vero cell formula. This is administered in 2 doses, 28 days apart.

The cost of this course is approximately £150 which I think presents a barrier to many travellers taking the vaccine when budgeting all other costs and other higher priority vaccines etc. These priorities obviously depend on the type of activities you intend to engage in while away. A JE vaccine may be top priority if you are working in rural areas surrounded by rice paddies and pigs for extended periods.

Initially I decided that I was low risk and given the rarity of the disease in travellers and advice from my nurse I would not have the vaccine.

2 weeks before departure I changed my mind after I had researched this new information. I was of course too close to my departure date to have the 2nd jab before I left. When speaking with the nurse at the travel clinic I was advised that I could have my 2nd jab in Thailand. Taking her advice I had the first jab costing me £80 inc a £10 consultation fee.