Insurance forum

baggage insurance

• elysek

Joined Travelfish
    22nd May, 2012

I will be in southeast asia for 6 weeks in July and August. I am already covered for medical, although I have been looking into baggage coverage. I will be taking my fairly new DSLR camera, and also my iPhone (both of which I plan on having on my most of the time). I will also have a new backpack, as well as obviously all my travel documents which would add up if I needed to replace them. My camera is over $1000, which I am finding is a value not normally covered so I might have to settle for only partial coverage. Any recommendations on whether it is worth it to get coverage for my belongings and which companies offer the best rates (Im canadian). Also, please no snarky remarks about bringing expensive items. I am a photography student, and wouldn't dare not bringing along my camera on a trip like this. Thank you!

#1 Posted: 24/6/2012 - 15:44

• Advertisement

• busylizzy

Joined Travelfish
    31st December, 2007
    Location New Zealand
    Total reviews: 20
    Places visited:
    At least 107

The question about whether or not it is worth getting coverage is determined by whether or not you can afford to cover (or forfeit) the cost of a replacement if the worst happens. Think through the worst case: the camera gear is stolen or dropped overboard on a boat. How much will the insurance company pay out and how much is a new one? Are you prepared to pay the difference? Now compare that difference to the what you would have to pay to cover the cost of taking extra insurance to cover specific items. Can you afford to take the risk of having to pay that difference, or do you pay more now upfront to cover that risk?

Check with the insurance company, too, about how they define the value of a camera. Is the body one item up to $1000, and the lens another item worth up to $1000 (ie a total of $2k)? Or is it a combined value?