Travel technology forum

Internet access whilst traveling?

• sofiainswe

Joined Travelfish
    13th June, 2011

I'm planing to spend about 4 months next year traveling through Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam, but I am a college student. I will be taking all my classes online so all I need is my small laptop and internet access to get by, I'm just wondering if there is any type of wifi i can purchase that I could use all over. Or just in general how to go about accessing the internet in south east Asia.

#1 Posted: 13/6/2011 - 08:32

• Advertisement

• Mjsmith1982

Joined Travelfish
    1st July, 2011

I've used a device called a Wi-Fire when traveling. If you think you'll be in reach of hotspots/in more urban areas, the Wi-Fire just increases the range that you can connect to a router at. You just plug it in and it's like a little antenna that boosts the range/speed. Again, this will only help improve the range for hotspots so if you won't be in a location where you can access any, it's not for you.

The company is www.hfield.com Good luck with your travels!

#2 Posted: 1/7/2011 - 22:40

• stevejames00

Joined Travelfish
    29th January, 2009

You get wi-fi everywhere

#3 Posted: 2/7/2011 - 01:54

• SBE

Click here to learn more about SBE
    Joined Travelfish
    14th April, 2008
    Location Global Village
    Total reviews: 5
    Places visited:
    At least 2

Not quite everywhere, and not every guesthouse has it. Many guesthouses that do have it only have a signal in the lobby or restaurant area, not in the rooms. And presumably you'll want to work in your room so you can concentrate.

As a backup, if there's a phone signal you get your own access to the internet on your laptop by using a USB modem or dongle. It uses a sim card which are generally very cheap in SE Asia, and you just top it up using a mobile phone.